Soon to be back on the road!

4 11 2005
These are slightly modified journal entries i wrote whilst in Guy’s Drug Research Unit:
Obviously I’ve been thinking about what  i’m doing.

25.10.05

Why the hell am i going to stay in london?

  • -Firstly London is notoriously miserable in the winter. Besides being
    bloody freezing people are miserable as well. The weather is so bad
    here that annually millions of
    people get S.A.D – thats Seasonal Affective Disorder and is actually
    defined as deppresion. Thats how miserable the people get here. Suppose
    it’s kinda reasonable when you consider many don’t get to be in
    sunlight at all during this time – because the sun rises after your at
    work and sets before you leave work. Also it often affects aussies and
    kiwi’s more because we’re not used to it. And i think not seeing
    sunlight for a few months woud definetly get me down. Conversely
    Melbourne is bloody awesome in summer with great weather and nice
    beaches (beaches with sand not rocks).
    Melbourne has been voted the 3rd best party city in the world according
    to diffrent sources -including lonely planet and is hands down a better
    place to be. (thats right melbourne readers –  appreciate what you have!)

  • -If I work full time in melbourne ican have my own much nicer room (it’s 100pounds for a roomin
    london) – you get a nice house for that price  in melbourne. 
    Means i have more time and money to go out and actually enjoy
    myself rather than just working to pay the rent and living in darkness.
  • – I  get to be around my family. Very very big advantage for melbourne.
  • -London is great because its easy to travel to other places for cheap.
    But many attractions are not so nice in the winter because its raining
    and freezing. the exception is snow stuff like skiing – which is bloody
    expensive. So won’t be able to afford in anyway.

  • -The pound is a vert strong currency. But its not how much money i MAKE
    thats important but how much i SAVE. The cost of living in london is so
    ridiculously high that it whittles away any potential differences in
    saving. Melbourne on the other hand is considered ‘the most livable
    city’ – the reason for this is  the cost of living is quite low for
    such a high standard of living – ie. its a good place to live and you
    get more for your money.   Also because i’m an ‘unskilled worker’, in
    england  i can probably only make about 10pounds an hour max. Back home
    i
    get better money comparitively and after expenses i can save more money
    in melbourne.
  • -If however i come back here after finishing my degree’s my pay packet
    goes up about 9000 pounds or about $20,000!!! Because social workers
    are in huge demand over here. There so sought after over here they get
    2000 pound golden hello’s. (thats where you get a cash bonus of $5000
    just for signing up for a job.

  • -Im only planning to stay for a couple of months anyway. Would be better off coming back with degree’s and staying for longer

  • – I have serious amount of debt to pay back! I want to get rid of this
    debt as quickly as possible. Staying in london is not the best way to
    pay this back and i may even increase this debt. Travelingthrough the
    USA definetly will. America would be good but its very expensive and i
    dont want to do it on borrowed money. Also when i get back home i need
    to fork out for a place to live, a car and other stuff.
  • -If i stay in london through winter i will come back into australian
    winter. = endless winter. If i go back to australia now i get back just
    as sumer is heating up and i’ve just had summer in europe = endless
    summer.

So why would i choose to live in one of the worlds most expensive
cities, at a time when it is going to be cold, dark and miserable
making comparitively less money when i could be back in australia?

02.11.05
Well its funny…

Yesterday I was thinking about going home… Now i’m probably going to
go to south america! Man its strange. I was looking at ways to go home
and jamessaid why don’t you see if you can change your flight. I
thought about it and decided if I could going through south america on
the way would be kinda cool. I rang up today and spoke to someone
asking if I was able toreroute my flight – they said to call back in 24
hours after they’d checked with my agent. I know that when my agent
gets back to them they’ll  say no (i already screwed them over so they
made a loss of  $1700 on my ticket –  no favors coming that a way). I thought
about it for about 5 minutes and then called them back up, because I
was scheduled to go through New Orleans and obviously it’s been messed
up coz of huricane katrina I told them that obviously I could no longer
go there – the person on the other end agreed. I told him that this
totally screwed up my plans and I had to reroute my flight – he put me
on hold while he spoke to his manager comes back and is like ‘ok i’ve
spoken to my manager – that’s fine, where would you like to go? So now
I can reroute a round the world ticket to wherever I like! Well it has
to  be in the same direction i’ sure- but seeing as iwant to go to
south america that’s cool! Its Normaly the most expensive place to get
too. And to think I  have done this on 1900 bucks. It costs 1900 to fly
return to london from melbourne. Flights to rio start at $2500 return.
So i’ve done some good wrangling considering the flight company lost $1700 on my original ticket. (for information on how i did that see the scams section).

Its a good example of how in my life – things never go as planned.  I’m always changing things.

2 days ago I never thought i’d be going to South America on this trip
and now i’m going! A day ago I was going to be going back to melbourne.
Before that I was going to be livingin the uk for the next few months.
Before that I was goingg to be traveling through europe with the boys
from uni –  instead of mostly on my own. This is all before the fact that
this year I wasn’t going to be traveling at all but was going to be
working at uni finishing off my arts degree. Now i’m going to be
studying part time whilst on the road traveling through south america.
Before the arts degree  I was working for IBM and imagined myself
finishing a business degree and working for a big companyfor afew
years. Before bustin my ass for IBM running reports IBM I was bustin my
ass for my drill sergeant – just running – with a heavy ass pack and a gun, as an
army officer cadet boot camp doing rifle drills and learninig battle tactics
( I left boot camp on realising that I couldn’t do both IBM and the army
and was forced to make a decision). Throw in a 6 week stint trhough
thailand,  falling in love for the first time in a year long
relationship, running a  live in residential care unit for 6 months and its been
a roller coaster 2 and a half years – but a great ride!

Interesting to see the changes within me too. I don’t think i’ve
changed until I look back at what I was doing and how I used to
think.  What’s next? Who knows? I think i’ve got an inkling, but obviously – things change…
***

Note: It’s probable but not definite that i’m going to South America –
and if i do I don’t know where i’ll go. Peru looks cool though and so
does Brazil…  🙂

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 11 2005
Scott

hey man, i emailed u, i will be in san fransisco from teh 18th of december to the 23rd of december, u should stop through there and hang with me at some stage! That could be super sick and cool man!anyways let me know!!!

6 11 2005
Bonnie

hey!Sounds awesome… loving your musings and the way things just.. turn out for you.. It\’s wonderful the way that life throws these curve balls, and at times it seems that all we can so it kick back and enjoy the ride! Your life seems so… free. I have much respect for people who take the opportunity to travel and get outside the "norm" (re: Affluenza and No Logo) rather than embrace what\’s expected without questioning… (consume, work, breed, mortgage, repeat) Good scam with the ticket by the way!South America seems to be one of the best travel destinations, it\’s so cheap, and the people are lovely. Have a great time… and keep writing! Like your new quote on your profile, I have it in my quote list too, it\’s a good one, so ambiguous!Take care…Bonnie

6 11 2005
Bonnie

hey!Sounds awesome… loving your musings and the way things just.. turn out for you.. It\’s wonderful the way that life throws these curve balls, and at times it seems that all we can so it kick back and enjoy the ride! Your life seems so… free. I have much respect for people who take the opportunity to travel and get outside the "norm" (re: Affluenza and No Logo) rather than embrace what\’s expected without questioning… (consume, work, breed, mortgage, repeat) Good scam with the ticket by the way!South America seems to be one of the best travel destinations, it\’s so cheap, and the people are lovely. Have a great time… and keep writing! Like your new quote on your profile, I have it in my quote list too, it\’s a good one, so ambiguous!Take care…Bonnie

Leave a Reply

